Dr. Theodore (Ted) Jojola

April 2023
Director, Distinguished + Regents' Professor, Indigenous Design + Planning Institute, The University of New Mexico

Dr. Jojola has a distinguished career as an educator and practitioner in urban and regional planning and other related subjects, with particular specialty in indigenous planning. Since 1980, he has taught at the University of New Mexico. He served as director of Native American Studies from 1980 to 1996, acting director of the Community and Regional Planning Program in 1995-96 and director in 2004-05.

In 2010, he obtained funding for iArchitecture, an interdisciplinary course on contemporary indigenous architecture at UNM. He has an ongoing cultural consultancy with the Native American Cultural Center, Northern Arizona State University, Studio Ma Architects. Dr. Jojola prepared the Tribal Planning Student Internships & Planning Information Handbook for the New Mexico Indian Affairs Department in 2009. He conducted community workshops on indigenous planning for the US Department of Justice and regional workshops on tribal community planning, Policy Research Center, National Congress of American Indians in 2008. He is an ongoing participant in the Indigenous Planning Exchange, US Department of Education since 2007. Dr. Jojola participated in the Visioning 21st Century Tribal Community Planning, Tribal Planning Summit, Arizona State University in 2007. He has also been involved since 2007 with the New Mexico Indian Education Atlas.

Dr. Jojola has published in many books and periodicals, and has prepared technical and commissioned research reports. Recently, he prepared Planning in Indian Country: Regional Conversations, a report of findings for eight regional tribal summits, 2007-2009 for the National Congress of American Indians (released 2011). He wrote the Legacy of the Pueblo Revolt and the Tiquex Province in an anthology of Po`pay and the Pueblo Revolt, edited by Joe Sando, Clear Light Book Publishers in 2005. He has also received many recognition awards for the merits of his work, including the Richard W. Etulain Honorary Lectureship in 2012 and distinguished professorship in 2011.